Insider logo The word "Insider".

Opinion 2021-03-02T17:14:42Z
homeless students in california do school in carport

Congress has a once-in-a-generation chance to fight child poverty. They shouldn't make it complicated.

The pandemic has exacerbated the effects of child poverty, and now Congress has the chance to pass a program to halve child poverty within a year.
Premium Opinion 2021-03-01T15:36:00Z
mall of america 1999

How to give America's dying malls the 2nd life they desperately need

Malls could be redeveloped into schools, housing, or data centers, but federal support is needed to spur redevelopment.
Opinion 2021-03-01T14:13:29Z
solar panels water treatment rural colorado

To reconnect with rural voters, Democrats must invest in local renewable energy projects

Democrats have trouble connecting with rural voters. To help these communities, they must invest in local renewable energy projects.
Opinion 2021-02-28T15:37:00Z

The global 'infodemic' will be Biden's biggest challenge

George Bush's Chief Information Officer offers some advice to Biden about countering the biggest national threat to democracy: misinformation.
Opinion 2021-02-28T15:04:00Z

Reliance on fossil fuels will lead to more energy disasters like Texas

People wonder whether the energy disaster in Texas could happen in their state. If we don't stop relying on fossil fuels, the answer is "yes."
Opinion 2021-02-28T14:04:00Z

Biden and Congress need to tackle the gun violence crisis — before it's too late

Biden and the Democrats have already addressed many big crises facing the country, but one needs his immediate attention: guns.
Premium Opinion 2021-02-28T14:02:00Z

Posters-in-chief: The GOP's social media activity proves they have no political direction

The post-Trump GOP hasn't identified a policy they're eager to move on, and the result is self-serving posts on social media.
Premium Opinion 2021-02-28T13:26:00Z

There are 2 kinds of people in the stock market right now: People who are in on the joke and people who aren't

When silly sells on Wall Street, expect just about everyone to start slinging it. If this is your first bubble, you may want to keep that in mind.
Opinion 2021-02-28T13:03:00Z

Why I'm suing McDonald's for discrimination along with 76 other Black former franchisees

I played 6 seasons in the NFL and never took a hit as hard as the ones McDonald's put on me during my 24 years as an operator in Atlanta.
Opinion 2021-02-27T15:06:00Z

If we don't waive vaccine patents, thousands of people will needlessly die

Claims on the intellectual property of COVID-19 vaccines have slowed down their rollouts, needlessly resulting in the loss of life.
Opinion 2021-02-27T14:33:00Z

America has a valuable chance to reimagine our food system as a force to combat climate change

Under a more progressive administration, now is the time to rethink our food and agriculture industries into a tool that fights climate change.
Opinion 2021-02-27T14:04:00Z

Because of its colonial past, the UK has a duty to help residents of Hong Kong

The British government must acknowledge its role in the oppression of Hong Kong, as its citizens are being thrown in jail.
Opinion 2021-02-27T13:47:00Z

How the fight over 'hero pay' for grocery workers reveals chain stores' massive corporate greed

Kroger's $2/hour raise for minimum wage workers was short-lived, while the company simultaneously paid out billions in shareholder profits.
Premium Opinion 2021-02-27T13:28:00Z

San Francisco's school renaming debacle is a timely mix of confused priorities and bad 'facts'

San Francisco's school board used inaccurate history to rename schools that haven't even been open in a year.
Opinion 2021-02-27T13:13:00Z

New York City just granted protections to fast food workers. It may be a model for protecting essential workers across the country.

To fire fast food workers in New York City, employers must provide "just cause," and only after completing a series of "progressive discipline."
Premium Opinion 2021-02-26T20:40:50Z

Biden promised a return to 'normal.' His Syrian airstrikes show 'normal' can also be unconstitutional and immoral

Biden bombed Syria without Congress' authorization, continuing the terrible US tradition of unilateral presidential warfare.
Opinion 2021-02-26T20:32:42Z

SCOTT GALLOWAY: I predict the New York Times will outlive both Facebook and Google — here's why

Galloway says every company wants to command and monetize consumer attention, and a subscription-based model is the best way to do so.
Opinion 2021-02-26T17:53:15Z

I overcame the fear and stigma of giving my kid extra screen time during the pandemic. Here's why he's better off for it.

Working mom Melissa Petro learned to embrace the benefits of screen time for her 3-year-old son for the sake of her sanity.
Opinion 2021-02-26T15:35:00Z

I've worked at Walmart for 20 years and can't afford a doctor. Congress needs to pass a $15 minimum wage now.

I testified to the Senate about why we need a $15 minimum wage. As a Walmart employee, I know the difference it could make in people's lives.
Premium Opinion 2021-02-26T14:17:00Z

To all the Wall Street and tech bros heading out to Miami and Austin: Goodbye and good riddance

If you're abandoning your city in its time of need, you're not needed. New York City and San Francisco don't need you.
Premium Opinion 2021-02-25T14:03:00Z

It's still too easy to kick people out of school, even when we're all on Zoom

Problematic toys, absent-minded gaffes, and violations of social-media policies you don't even know exist can get you kicked out of school.
Premium Opinion 2021-02-24T17:58:36Z

Economists are scared to tell you the good news about the US economy

Stronger consumer growth, more stimulus, COVID-19 vaccines — there's a lot of good news for the US economy. Get ready for a strong year.
Premium Opinion 2021-02-23T23:06:18Z

Get ready: Back to normal is coming very soon

There's great news about the COVID-19 vaccines, but experts are underselling them. It's time to admit it: We'll be back to "normal" before Christmas.
Opinion 2021-02-23T14:14:00Z

Congress needs to seize the moment, end the influence of Big Money, and save American democracy

The bill aims to amplify the power of small donors, who more closely represent the average constituent in terms of gender and race.
Opinion 2021-02-22T17:56:49Z

'Reasonable' Republicans are just as extreme as Trump and Marjorie Taylor Greene

Don't be fooled: in terms of policy, there's not much difference between the "moderate" GOP and people like Trump and Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene.
Premium Tech 2021-02-22T15:39:49Z

Facebook's wrong about a lot of things. Blocking news in Australia isn't one of them.

Its move was a logical response to the worst attempt of a government to pander to an influential constituency at the expense of an unpopular target.
Markets 2021-02-22T15:00:00Z

Goldman's global stock chief breaks down how the COVID-19 recovery is likely to be different to the cycle after the financial crisis

The recovery from the COVID-19 bear market trough last March was swift, writes Peter Oppenheimer. He sets out what is likely to happen next.
Opinion 2021-02-22T14:02:00Z

Too many people are still falling for harmful myths about raising the minimum wage

Not only is taking action to end poverty a moral imperative, but the stated costs of raising the minimum wage are wildly overblown.
Opinion 2021-02-21T15:03:00Z

COVID relief checks are only controversial in Congress. Americans overwhelmingly support bigger stimulus checks.

72% of voters in four key swing states want Congress to send $1,400 relief checks to bolster the $600 Americans already recieved..
Opinion 2021-02-21T14:33:00Z

Pointless infighting among progressives is becoming exhausting and harmful

Progressives still hold grudges against each other after a contentious primary season one year ago. This is slowing down the progress they hope for.
Opinion 2021-02-21T14:02:00Z

A simple regulation would save American car buyers $5 billion and help boost the US economy

Dealers are making an estimated $8 million each year from discretionary mark ups on financing offers.
Premium Opinion 2021-02-21T13:27:00Z

I regret to inform you all that history will not save America from itself

Pundits keep saying that history will vindicate Republicans like Mitt Romney, but history has shown us that the good guys don't always get their say.
Opinion 2021-02-21T13:03:00Z

Will the Biden spending package result in runaway inflation? No!

Economists like Larry Summers are worried Biden's American Rescue Plan will overheat the economy and drive inflation. But these worriers are wrong.
Premium Opinion 2021-02-20T19:07:37Z

Ron Kim, a New York Democrat who's called out Cuomo's nursing home coverup for months, says it's time for the governor to face the music

The progressive Democrat talked with Insider about fighting for the truth about New York's nursing home deaths, and facing Cuomo's wrath.
Opinion 2021-02-20T15:51:00Z

The trouble with the 'troubled teen' label and the behavioral modification industry behind it

The industry says it has changed. A recent lawsuit and discussions with industry professionals underscores it has not.
Opinion 2021-02-20T15:07:00Z

Saudi Arabia released a feminist activist from prison, but the government must prove the move wasn't just a PR stunt

The release of activist Loujain al-Hathloul is seen as an overture from Saudi Arabia to the US. Unless they prove otherwise, it's just a PR stunt.
Opinion 2021-02-20T14:33:00Z

There's a very real possibility that Biden fails to restore America's reputation

There are too many avenues of foreign policy that Biden may fail to navigate. We should be ready in the event that he doesn't heal our reputation.
Opinion 2021-02-20T14:07:00Z

Biden can help rebuild America's greatness by letting more international students study and stay in the US

America's student visa policy is in need of an overhaul. A better, streamlined policy would work wonders for our prosperity.
Opinion 2021-02-20T13:28:00Z

President Biden, don't let the benefits of the huge federal stimulus leak down the drain

Biden needs to make sure that the economic benefit stays in the US economy instead of leaking out and muting the impact of the federal spending.
Opinion 2021-02-20T13:03:00Z

I am a mother of two kids, and my student debt is crushing my family. Forgiving student loans will help us escape the cycle of poverty.

Forgiving $10,000 isn't enough. Biden needs to forgive all student loan debt so my kids can have a better future.
Opinion 2021-02-20T13:00:00Z

How to respond to the 5 most tired, trickle-down arguments against the $15 minimum wage

Paul Constant lived through the Fight for $15 in Seattle and says there's no evidence that a high minimum wage will kill jobs or increase the cost of living.
Opinion 2021-02-19T22:09:51Z

SCOTT GALLOWAY: I started buying stocks at age 13. More than 40 years later, I finally understand what investment really means.

In middle school, Galloway was given $200 to buy stocks. Now, he says that making good investments is the reason his sons have health insurance.
Opinion 2021-02-19T14:41:39Z

As a former oil executive, I can tell you Biden is not at war with oil. The industry has already been moving toward green energy.

Biden is not at "war" with oil, despite what politicians say. The people, the markets, and the administration are all pushing in the same direction.
Premium Tech 2021-02-18T16:12:57Z

Facebook's ambitious plan to compete with the Apple Watch will fail unless it does 3 key things

Leveraging its user base and building its own ecosystem would give Facebook a competitive advantage over Apple's tech.
Opinion 2021-02-18T14:09:00Z

Biden shouldn't dole out ambassadorships to political donors. We need real diplomats to help rebuild America's shattered global image.

Biden is favoring donors over career diplomats for ambassador positions. Ambassadors represent the US and should have the experience to do so.
Premium Opinion 2021-02-17T18:36:42Z

The 2 reasons Republicans can't move on from Donald Trump

Trump won't let the GOP move on, as his nasty letter to Mitch McConnell shows. But even if he did, what would they move on to?
Opinion 2021-02-17T15:34:00Z

AOC's new law to pay for COVID-19 victims' funeral expenses will be a relief for mourning families. But it does not go far enough.

The relief will be a big aid for impoverished families, but only if the aid is easy to access. Even still, the money won't cover all the costs.
Opinion 2021-02-17T13:28:00Z

Robinhood's idea to rewire the financial system in the wake of the GameStop mania is a nonsensical disaster

Same day settlement wouldn't fix the Reddit-fueled GameStop problem and would only make the financial system even more unfair.
Premium Opinion 2021-02-17T01:36:03Z

This is what Mitch gets for trying to have it both ways with Donald Trump

Convicting Trump of incitement would've sidelined him to an extent but, no. Mitch had to have his Trump and eat it too.
Opinion 2021-02-14T15:05:00Z

An obscure Alaska court case could end super PACs and reshape our democracy

If the case goes to the Supreme Court, the ruling could change the way we finance campaigns by eliminating super PACs.
Loading Something is loading.
View more