Business Insider logo The words "Business Insider".
Close icon Two crossed lines that form an 'X'. It indicates a way to close an interaction, or dismiss a notification.

Opinion 2020-07-08T18:15:00Z
nyc public school social distance

How Trump could help schools reopen in the fall

The Trump administration could send billions of dollars in emergency funds to local schools that are disastrously underfunded because of the pandemic.
Opinion 2020-07-08T12:38:00Z
citizenship ceremony

Trump's attacks on legal immigration show just how desperately the US needs to change our system

President Trump's attacks on immigration show how desperately we need reform, and there are a number of ways we can get there.
Opinion 2020-07-07T18:02:00Z
Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin speaks as U.S. President Donald Trump and White House senior adviser Ivanka Trump listen during an East Room event highlighting Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) loans for small businesses adversely affected by the coronavirus disease (COVID-19) outbreak, at the White House in Washington, U.S., April 28, 2020. REUTERS/Carlos Barria

Stop trying to shame companies that took PPP loans

The PPP wasn't perfect, but it was designed to reduce the number of people laid off as a result of the pandemic and lockdowns. It did that.
Opinion 2020-07-07T14:47:04Z

Culture war is over (if you want it)

Fight fiercely for your political principles. Punch hard and punch often. But don't presume your opponents are inherently evil.
Opinion 2020-07-07T14:28:00Z

Trump's renewed effort to dismantle Obamacare is particularly cruel during the pandemic

The Trump administration's lawsuit pushing for the repeal of the Affordable Care Act is even more dangerous as the country faces a national pandemic.
Opinion 2020-07-07T12:47:00Z

What I learned about being Black after a cop pointed a gun at me when I was 12 years old

After a dance at my school in a mostly white neighborhood, my friends and I — all Black kids — were stopped by a cop with his gun drawn. We were 12.
Opinion 2020-07-06T18:00:00Z

Don't arrest anti-maskers. There's a better way to handle them.

We don't need more unnecessary confrontations between police and citizens. But we could use shame, peer pressure, and mask-enforcement bouncers.
Healthcare 2020-07-03T08:32:30Z

Mental health in the UK's COVID-19 lockdown is a brewing crisis that could cause more damage than the virus itself

More than half of UK adults have seen their mental health deteriorate during the pandemic. The crisis could cause more damage than the virus itself.
Opinion 2020-07-02T18:00:00Z

The 'economy or virus' delusion

It's not "reopen the economy" or "get a handle on the virus." The economy is not going to open unless we actually fight the pandemic.
Opinion 2020-07-01T22:32:00Z

The US embassy in Prague is planning to hold a July 4 party in the midst of the pandemic. That's reckless.

According to sources within the US Embassy in the Czech Republic, American Ambassador Steve King is planning to throw a big Independence Day party.
Opinion 2020-07-01T18:00:00Z

Hong Kong is gone. It's over.

China's security law means that Hong Kong's time as an open society is over. And Trump's ineffectiveness helped push the situation there.
Opinion 2020-07-01T14:22:04Z

Coronavirus ruined my kids' school year, Trump's response has ruined next year

Trump's continually terrible coronavirus response is robbing kids of their educations and childhood.
Opinion 2020-06-30T18:00:00Z

What if your boss acted like this?

Trump has shirked his duties, paid no attention to important meetings, and let the country down repeatedly. In any other job, he would've been fired.
Opinion 2020-06-30T13:45:29Z

Many police departments across the US resisted calls for reform for years. Now this resistance to change is coming back to bite them.

Police have suppressed police reform measures for years despite problems in their ranks. Now, governments and communities are finally pushing back.
Opinion 2020-06-29T18:00:00Z

Why did Trump do nothing about Russia's bounties on US troops?

Trump either didn't receive, intentionally buried, or simply was bored by the intelligence that Russia had put bounties on the heads of US soldiers.

Republicans have been playing a win at all costs game for years. It's time for Democrats to fight back

Republicans have been a minority party for years but have still retained power. It's time for Democrats to put an end to this disparity.
Opinion 2020-06-28T13:47:00Z

America's education system needs a pandemic bailout

We bailed out the banks during the financial crisis. Now it's to bail out our education system during the coronavirus pandemic.

The George Floyd protests may become a defining moment in the future of American politics

The level of activism that came after George Floyd's death feels different. Here's how it can define the country going forward.
Strategy 2020-06-28T13:00:00Z

Let's not make ageist correlations between age and business success or failure — doing so is not just ethically challenging, it's factually incorrect

Abby Miller Levy says she worked side by side with Arianna Huffington to start Thrive Global — and that Huffington ran circles around her competitors.
Opinion 2020-06-28T12:37:00Z

We studied more than 15,000 protests across the US and found that police were much more likely to respond aggressively to protests led by Black Americans

The inequality gap between white and Black Americans is evident even during protests, and its been this way for decades.

Trump's in danger of losing some of his most faithful voters

Some of Donald Trump's most loyal supporters have been white evangelicals, but new data suggests their enthusiasm for him may be lower than in 2016.
Opinion 2020-06-27T13:27:00Z

Politicians want people to stop marching because protesters 'won' small legislative changes mean. But people won't leave the streets until there is real, lasting change.

Governor Andrew Cuomo said that protesters should stop protesting because they've "won," but protests aren't going to stop until real change is made.
Opinion 2020-06-27T12:27:00Z

Zero tolerance cancellations won't create a more just society

Criminal justice reform requires the strength to believe in second chances. Cancelling relatively powerless people is in conflict with those efforts.
Opinion 2020-06-26T18:00:00Z

The GOP's stupid crusade against Obamacare

The Trump administration is still trying to strike down the Affordable Care Act, also known as Obamacare, in the middle of a devastating pandemic.
Opinion 2020-06-25T19:37:32Z

It's great that dead people got $1.4 billion in stimulus checks, stop whining

People are worried about coronavirus stimulus checks going out to dead people. But the real problem is that there wasn't enough overpayment.
Opinion 2020-06-25T18:00:00Z

Why are masks political?

If Trump wanted the pandemic to end, the economy to reopen, and to get reelected he would support mask wearing. But instead he refuses.
Opinion 2020-06-25T13:04:28Z

Trump and Barr have launched an all-out assault on America's justice system

America's justice system has been under attack by President Trump and his administration, most notably in the form of firing Geoffrey Berman.
Opinion 2020-06-24T23:07:00Z

A panic over fireworks shows how quickly conspiracy theories can spread

Spreading conspiracy theories about why there's so many more fireworks going off at all hours of the night is not helpful.

Trump's coronavirus tragedy is getting worse

Instead of attacking the pandemic head-on, Trump has left the US leaderless as cases spike in places like Florida and Texas.
Opinion 2020-06-24T12:32:00Z

Get ready: another massive wave of layoffs is about to hit the US economy

The PPP program helped saved some jobs in the short-term, but another round of coronavirus pandemic layoffs are going to hit in July.
Opinion 2020-06-23T18:00:00Z

Trump's visa ban is terrible for America

The Trump administration pointed to the weak economy as a reason for the visa suspension, but that is a miserable excuse and makes no sense.
Opinion 2020-06-23T15:04:44Z

Stop taking the police solely at their word

NYPD and union brass created a fake story about a Shake Shack "poisoning." It's time to treat cops like any other source, with reasonable skepticism.
Opinion 2020-06-22T18:05:00Z

TikTok-gate is a bad sign for Trump

The candidate whose supporters are having more fun usually wins, and it seems like the anti-Trump vote is having a better time right now.

Just like Trump promised, the US is 'tired of winning.' The only problem is we're 'winning' in the worst ways.

President Trump promised us that under his leadership, we would get "tired of winning." Years later, we are winning, just in all the wrong categories.
Opinion 2020-06-21T13:37:00Z

The pandemic makes it clear: it's time to finally address the mental health crisis in America

The US was in the midst of a mental health crisis even before the pandemic. As we fight COVID-19, we also need to fight the mental health crisis.
Opinion 2020-06-21T12:26:00Z

If Republicans don't get their act together the economy's going to fall off a cliff

The US economy has been on life support since the coronavirus started, and Republicans want to pull the chord.
Opinion 2020-06-20T14:39:00Z

Here's how to make sure the economic recovery from the pandemic helps the people who need it most

The government, private businesses, and any group working on the COVID-19 recovery need to make sure that their programs create equitable outcomes.
Opinion 2020-06-20T13:26:00Z

To boost the US economy, the government should take a page from the Great Depression playbook and hire thousands of American artists

The first Works Projects Administration put artists back to work after the depression, and there's no better time than now for a new one.
Opinion 2020-06-20T12:38:00Z

A behind-the-scenes 'bully' in the State Department is the perfect example of the mess that is the Trump administration

Former IG Steven Linick laid out just how aggressive Pompeo ally Brian Bulato can be and showed what is wrong with the State Department.
Opinion 2020-06-19T12:17:00Z

The US economy is starting to bounce back but there are 3 dangers that could mess up all the gains

The US economy has made gains in recent weeks, but COVID-19, trade fights, and the upcoming fiscal cliffs still present dangers.
Opinion 2020-06-18T18:00:00Z

How far could stocks fall?

Stocks keep climbing despite the rising coronavirus cases in many states. But if things do take a turn, just how far could the market fall?

Democrats should embrace the 'defund the police' slogan

Democrats are trying to disavow the "defund the police" slogan while trying to win over the movements' supporters. This is a mistake.
Opinion 2020-06-17T23:24:21Z

We can all stop pretending Trump is tough on China now

According to John Bolton, Trump was willing to overlook just about anything from China as long as he got what he needed to get reelected.
Opinion 2020-06-17T18:00:00Z

A simple plan for mitigating (but not trying to stop) the pandemic

It's clear that the US screwed up the coronavirus response, but we can't go back to lockdown. Here's what we should do instead.
Opinion 2020-06-16T21:11:28Z

NYPD officers claiming they were 'poisoned' at a Shake Shack shows how broken policing is

Cops falsely assumed they were intentionally poisoned at a Shake Shack. But the jump to conclusions is a startling insight into the police mindset.
Opinion 2020-06-16T18:00:00Z

The US coronavirus response is a national disgrace

The number of COVID-19 cases and deaths is staggering and we seem to just be giving up on trying ton contain and squash the pandemic.
Opinion 2020-06-16T17:55:00Z

The George Floyd protests have become 5 different movements

While they are all interconnected, there are five main issues and arguments that have grown out of the protests about the killing of George Floyd.
Markets 2020-06-16T14:40:00Z

This is not a recession, but just a long government-dictated public holiday

The real test for the economy will be after it has re-opened fully.

You want radical police reform? Vote in local elections.

The president doesn't make police department policy, local governments do. If lawmakers fear being voted out of their "safe seats," they'll change.
Opinion 2020-06-15T18:00:00Z

The Supreme Court's LGBTQ ruling is marvelous, and not enough

Legal rulings did not solve discrimination against Black Americans, and legal rulings will not solve discrimination against LGBTQ Americans.
Loading Something is loading.
View more